Log in

No account? Create an account
Recent Entries Friends Calendar User Info the odango... magazine Previous Previous Next Next
hip hip queens-ray! kew them gardens.
hands up *clap* *clap* hands down
I discovered something this morning
9 commentaires and Leave a comment
melanyebaggins From: melanyebaggins Date: le 04 août 2009 21:19 (UTC) (Lien)
We do have an abundance of real honest-to-goodness maple syrup (which is all WE will buy, though most brands, especially from Quebec, aren't kosher) but you will also find high-fructose corn syrup crap in the same aisle. Yes, alas, we have it too *hangs head*
gordond From: gordond Date: le 06 août 2009 01:17 (UTC) (Lien)
Let me be the bearer of good / fattening news. Straight from the OU FAQ :

If the maple syrup is 100% pure - with no additives, then there are considerable reasons to assume that it doesn’t need Kosher certification. At the same time some companies at one time used clarifiers that were not Kosher. It is our understanding that such clarifiers are no longer in use.

This is not the case with Passover, when maple syrup requires a reliable Kosher for Passover certification.
9 commentaires and Leave a comment